Govt. Dental College

 Calicut Medical College PO, Kerala, India - 673008.

GDC Kozhikode 

Home / GDC Kozhikode

Government Dental College, Kozhikode is the second dental college in the Government sector started as early as 1981.

We have been catering to the special dental needs of the patients in the Malabar region for more than 40 years.

Our training programs are focused on the provision of quality educational experiences to train clinically competent dentists and develop advocates and dental leaders to address the oral health issues of the community. We achieve this through service, training, teaching and research.

Our Vision

■ To serve as a centre of excellence in the field of dental education, imparting knowledge and providing state of art infrastructure and facilities conducive to learning and research while rendering comprehensive patient-centered care.

Our Mission

■ To educate and mould the students to become highly trained, competent and empathetic dental surgeons who are well versed in the latest treatment procedures.
■ To provide comprehensive treatment to the patients utilizing advanced equipments and cutting-edge technology.
■ To support and promote innovative research to aid in the advancement of dentistry and betterment of the society.

GDC Kozhikode - History

The journey to the present prestigious Government Dental College, Kozhikode began as a small Department of Dentistry in the Calicut Medical College in 1969. It later expanded to form a Dental wing with four specialities in 1979 and was upgraded to a full-fledged Dental College in 1981.

The BDS course started in 1982 with an intake of 30 students which was increased to 40 in 1996 and to the current 50 students in 2009. Our training programs are focused on providing quality education to the young future dentists. We strive to create clinically competent dentists who will be capable of redefining the future of oral health care through comprehensive treatments and innovative research.

The post graduate course started in the specialty of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in 1992 and in various other specialties in the subsequent years. The college now offers MDS course in eight specialities. The general goal of the program is to provide intellectual skills in applying scientific methods to solve problems in rational and scientific manner. Another major goal is to provide training in various disciplines of dentistry to apply appropriate treatment strategies. The student will also be assisted in undertaking research activity to create new knowledge, dissertation work and publications.

The college also has paramedical courses under DME viz., Dental Operatory Room Assistant (DORA) and Diploma Course in Dental Mechanics (DCDM) with a yearly intake of 10 students in each course. The DCDM course was started in the year 1984 while DORA commenced in the year 2011.

The college is affiliated with Kerala University of Health Science. The college provides modern treatment facilities, state of the art equipment, excellent library facilities and a devoted and highly qualified faculty. The college also has a ladies hostel exclusively for dental students which was commissioned in August 2010.

Succession list of Principals

1Dr.B.R.R. Varma
Special OfficerJan 1982 - May 1983
2Dr.C.T. MathewDirectorJune 1983 - April 1988
3Dr. Jose.T.MampillyDirectorMay 1988 - April 1993
4Dr. Rezy CheruDirectorMay 1993 - Sept 1994
5Dr. Thresiamma JosephPrincipal July 1996 - 16.05.1998
6Dr. Keshav BhatPrincipal Sept 1998 - July 1999
7Dr. Ram ManoharPrincipal July 1999 - Aug 2002
8Dr. HarindranathanPrincipal Aug 2002 - April 2005
9Dr. H. ShamsuddinPrincipal May 2005 
10Dr. M. GopinathanPrincipal June 2005
11Dr. M.K. MangalamPrincipal I/CJuly 2005 - May 2006
12Dr. V.Ipe VarghesePrincipal May 2006 - May 2010
13Dr. Gilsa.K. VasunniPrincipal I/CMay 2010 - July 2010
April 2011 - Aug 2011
14Dr. Jolly Mary VarughesePrincipal July 2010 - April 2011
15Dr. N. RetnakumariVice Principal I/CAug 2011 - May 2015
16Dr. N. RetnakumariPrincipal May 2015 - June 2016
17Dr. M. RameshkumarPrincipal I/CJune 2016 - Jan 2017
18Dr. Gilsa.K. VasunniPrincipal Jan 2017 - Oct 2021
19Dr. Soumithran. C.S.Principal Oct 2021 - Continuing

Copyright © 2021-2024. | Website designed by Dr.Rajeev Simon Kurudamannil.
Powered by Dentaura.Com